3 quotes at the start

Posted on November 25, 2011

5



I have been rather quiet. And for good reason. After several years, the book is very close to finished and I have been focussing all my efforts on getting it completed. Before I send it off to the publisher, however, I thought I’d share the three quotes I am thinking of putting at the beginning of the book.

For now we see in a mirror, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know fully even as also I was fully known.

1 Corinthians 13:12

For the mind of man is far from the nature of a clear and equal glass, wherein the beams of things should reflect according to their true incidence; nay, it is rather like an enchanted glass, full of superstition and imposture, if it be not delivered and reduced.

Bacon

Even Mathematics, Natural Philosophy, and Natural Religion, are in some measure dependent on the science of MAN, since they lie under the cognizance of men, and are judged by their powers and faculties. ‘Tis impossible to tell what changes and improvements we might make in these sciences were we thoroughly acquainted with the extent and force of human understanding, and cou’d explain the nature of the ideas we employ, and of the operations we perform in our reasoning.

Hume

No, I will not be quoting Rorty.

Posted in: Draft texts