Behavioral & Brain Sciences article available

Posted on February 12, 2010

11


The McKay and Dennett article and discussion in BBS 32.6 is now available on the web, including my own commentary to it. The other commentaries are nearly all as interesting. One thing that I found particularly striking was that many of the authors seem to be now moving toward the kind of dual inheritance explanation of religion that I, myself, have been pursuing for a while. One of the commentators who seem to now favour this line of argument is David Sloan Wilson to whom I talked about this a couple of years back now. I have, of course, no evidence that it was because of that discussion that he has moved away from his previous idea that the presence of supernatural agents was inconsequential for understanding what religions are.

