Bristol sounds like a nice place in September

Posted on December 14, 2008

0


At the very least, they keep organising very interesting conferences. This one, in particular, goes right to the top of my list of ones I’d like to attend next year:

Evolution, Co-operation and Rationality Conference, September 18-20th 2009

Confirmed Speakers: Cristina Bicchieri, Philosophy, University of Pennsylvania; Ken Binmore, Economics, University College London, University of Bristol; Gerd Gigerenzer, Max Planck Institute for Human Development; Werner Guth, Max Planck Institute of Economics; Peter Hammerstein, Institute for Theoretical Biology, Humboldt University Berlin; John McNamara, Mathematics, University of Bristol; Samir Okasha, Philosophy, University of Bristol; Brian Skyrms, Logic & Philosophy of Science, University of California, Irvine; Stuart West, Biology, University of Edinburgh

The conference forms part of the “Evolution, Cooperation and Rationality” project in the Department of Philosophy at the University of Bristol. This philosophical project, funded by the AHRC, draws heavily upon empirical and theoretical results from the natural and social sciences. We welcome submissions from the fields of philosophy, biology, economics, psychology and anthropology.

That’s at least three people I haven’t had the chance to see but would love to. It would also be great to meet up again with Samir, who is organising the conference. Maybe I can blackmail him by threatening to publicise the photo I have of him wearing a napkin as headgear. More usefully, I think I even know what I would like to talk about at the conference and it should very nicely fit the overall theme. Hardly surprising, I guess, given how the conference fits the theme of my research. Similarly, I expect that at least a couple of other KLI people are likely to attend.

