2009 conferences

Posted on November 30, 2008

0


It’s the time of the year to think about which of next year’s conferences sound interesting. Every year, I find myself considering many more conferences than I end up going to in the end. The list for 2009 is fairly heterogenous:

April – European Human Behaviour and Evolution Association conference in St. Andrews

April – Philosophy of Science meeting in Dubrovnik

May – The Venice Summer School on Science and Religion with F. de Vaal, S. Conway Morris and M. Ruse, among others, in attendance

June – Gathering in Biosemiotics in Prague, organised by my friend Don Favareau

June – European Society for Philosophy and Psychology in a yet-undisclosed location

August – Wittgenstein Symposium in Kirchberg – Language and World is the topic for next year

August – International Association for the Psychology of Religion conference in Vienna

October – European Philosophy of Science Association meeting in Amsterdam

Several of these meetings are ones I have gone to previously and a couple are ones that I have wanted to go to for a while but never had a chance to. I am quite sure that I will not go to all of them and I am fairly sure that I will go to others not on this list. I am also sure that if I present this list to my dean she’ll have a fit thinking about the costs.

