That’s just what a philosopher would say

Posted on September 26, 2008

0


I get that reply to a lot of things that I say, usually when I am arguing that someone is doing something that is wrong for moral or plain practical reasons. The implied, profoundly condescending and anti-intellectual, conclusion seems to be that, therefore, it is safe to completely ignore what I had just suggested. I have previously found myself dumbstruck by such attitudes and would sometimes try to save the situation by changing the topic. Perhaps I should have been going the more direct route and asked, “Which means you can safely ignore my suggestion, I take it.” Most people balk when their ugly side gets light cast upon it. Unfortunately, I appear not to be confrontational and am unlikely to use that strategy too often. Then, again, considering the kinds of things many philosophers do say…

