An introduction to the cognitive and evolutionary psychology of religion

Posted on July 9, 2007

0


A couple of posts back I agreed with David Sloan Wilson that Dawkins fails to do justice to scientific studies of religion in his The God Delusion. Having said that, it is actually quite hard to do the field justice due to the speed with which it is developing. However, there is a good, recent introduction which directs the reader to the most important work that has been done in the area in the last decade. The best thing about the review is that it is drop dead funny. I had to stifle my laughter as my office colleagues were looking at me like an idiot but I still could not help myself when confronted by lines like: “I detect an agent, therefore, off with my foreskin.” The article is:

Joseph Bulbulia “The cognitive and evolutionary psychology of religionBiology and Philosophy 19: 655-686, 2004

I heartily recommend to all those who think they know what religion is all about. The story is really a lot more complicated.

