Talk at Anomalistic Psychology, Goldsmiths

Posted on January 25, 2007

0


At the end of this month I am going to the UK. Among other things, I am going to drop in on the Anomalistic Psychology Research Unit at Goldsmiths College in London. I’ll be giving a talk on the 6th of February – In a mirror, darkly: Does superstition reflect rationality? The basic argument will be that the apparent ubiquity and clear durability of superstition requires that, if we are to deem human beings rational and to understand superstition, we should accept that rationality is inherently bounded and that superstition is a byproduct of our cognitive abilities. The talk is going to be open to the public so I will only give an outline of the argument. This suits me fine, actually, since I am only starting on my research in the area and have only roughly developed the arguments. Being able to visit the APRU ought to be a great opportunity for me to learn much more about what has been done in the area in terms of psychology research.

