Waiting for postdoc

Posted on January 23, 2007

0


I’m a philosophy lecturer doing research on rationality and I am superstitious. Right now I am waiting to hear the final word on whether I am to get a post-doc at the Konrad Lorenz Institute to study superstitious thinking as a natural phenomenon and I keep feeling the desire to cross my fingers. This doesn’t bother me too much as I seriously suspect that a tendency to superstitious thinking is a universal human trait. What is more, the sheer incongruence is somewhat pleasing and, again, ‘only human’.

This does not mean that I do succumb and cross my fingers, buy a lucky talisman or do any of the other things ‘guaranteed’ to bring me luck. Indeed, I try to free myself of any superstitious beliefs I actually identify. However, I am sure there are others I am not aware of and, more generally, I am convinced that I am just as succeptible to superstitious thinking as anyone else.

